Woordtrofees Awards nominations 2023

The nominations for this year’s Toyota SU Woordfees Woordtrofees Awards have been released. The nominations for this year’s Woordtrofees Awards have been released. The winners, who will receive a certificate and a financial prize, will be announced on 13 November at an awards ceremony to be held at Oude Libertas Amphitheatre in Stellenbosch.

According to Gillian Mitchell, the convenor of the Woordtrofees panel of judges, the variety within genres was particularly remarkable this year. “There really was something for everybody. Solo performances made a strong showing in the theatre category, and the childrens’ theatre category offered many shows that were multi-generational in that they were enjoyed by adults and children alike. Music was well supported and, there was exciting young talent on both the Contemporary (Toyota Music Festival) and Classical Music programmes.”

Along with awards for the top book sellers at the EasyEquities Writers’ Festival in four genres (fiction, lifestyle, poetry and non-fiction), a few special prizes will be handed out. This includes awards for WOW School of the Year and WOW School of the Year. For these Woordtrofees categories, however, no shortlist is released.

The nominations, listed in alphabetical order, are:


Best Achievement: Classical Music – Vocal

As ek…
Songs of Shakespeare
Stellenbosch University Choir
Van Mozart tot Verdi: Operahoogtepunte

Best Achievement: Classical Music – Instrumental

Between Friends
Johann Sebastian Bach: The Flute Sonatas
Rachmaninoff’s 150th Birthday Piano Bash
Trio du Cap Classique
Variations on Virtuosity


Best Achievement: Contemporary Music Production – Solo/duo

Amber/Ombré (Amanda Strydom)
Busrit in die aand (Tarryn Lamb, Frank Freeman)
Hoe ons voel (Amanda Strydom)
Vincent: His Quest to Love and Be Loved (Daniel Anderson, Germaine Gamiet)

Best Achievement: Contemporary Music Production – Group/ensemble

Classical Calabash
Effervescence: Xamisa, iKapa, Kaapstad
Kaapse Djezz: Ghoema and Beyond


Best Achievement: Dance

Karatara – Production
Shaun Oelf Performance (Karatara)
Ultra – Ensemble: Bronwyn Craddock, Nicolas Laubser, Jan Kotze

Best Upcoming Artist

Asiphe Mangqwengqwe – 50 Years of Jazzart (Dance)
Caleb Swanepoel – A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Theatre)
Koor – Magnet Theatre-opleidingsprogram: Oedipus at Colonus #aftersophocles (Theatre)
David Cyster – Beethoven Triple Concerto (Classical Music)
Melisizwe Plaatjie – Effervescence: Xamisa, iKapa, Kaapstad (Contemporary Music)


Best achievement: Technical

Die vegetariër – Set, Lighting, and Design
Droomkraan-kronieke – Set and Lighting
Hold Still – Set
Tuis, ek’s liefie – Set

Best Achievement: Fringe

Anglo Angst

Best Achievement: Kinderteater

Braam en die engel
Die dag toe Guppie sweef
The King of Broken Things

Best Supporting Actor (Male)

Eben Genis – Mirakel
Johann Nel – Droomwerk
José Dias – Master Class
Stian Bam – Die vegetariër

Best Supporting Actor (Female)

Antoinette Kellermann – Goed wat wag om te gebeur
Emma Kotze – Goed wat wag om te gebeur
Faniswa Yisa – Oedipus at Colonus #aftersophocles
Jill Levenberg – Droomwerk

Best Actor (Male)

Andrew Buckland – Oedipus at Colonus #aftersophocles
Dawid Minnaar – Mirakel
Gideon Lombard – Goed wat wag om te gebeur
Mark Elderkin – A Midsummer Night’s Dream

Best Actor (Female)

Lee-Ann van Rooi – The Woman Who Fed the Dogs
Melissa Myburgh – Die vegetariër
Sandra Prinsloo – Master Class
Shimmy Isaacs – Gin my die genade
Tinarie van Wyk Loots – Die vegetariër

Best Achievement: Solo

Antoinette Kellermann – Teen wil en dank
Dean John Smith – Hallo, dis Bettie wat praat
Elzabé Zietsman – Routrip
Kim Blanche Adonis – My Fellow South Africans

Best Ensemble

Braam en die engel – Cast
Droomkraan-kronieke – Cast
A Midsummer Night’s Dream – Cast
Oedipus at Colonus #aftersophocles – Choir

Best Director

Geoffrey Hyland – A Midsummer Night’s Dream
Jaco Bouwer – Die vegetariër
Nico Scheepers – Braam en die engel

Beste Theatre Production

A Midsummer Night’s Dream
Braam en die engel
Die vegetariër
Master Class